Welcome Back!


Welcome, Barnum Students, to the 2014-2015 School Year!  The first day of school is Tuesday, September 2, 2014, for our students in Grades One through Twelve.  Wednesday, September 3, 2014, is the first day for Kindergarten students.

Welcome, new Bomber Staff!  Our new 2014-2015 staff are Tracy Haggard, Fourth Grade Teacher; Michael Nordstrand, Chemistry/Physics Teacher; Aaron Lattu, Social Studies Teacher; A. J. Olson, Bus Driver; Bob Tranholt, Bus Driver; Lori Cawcutt, E.C.F.E. Teacher; and Janelle Coleman, Begindergarten Teacher. 

Congratulations to our 2014 Retirees!  We wish the following all the best in their retirement: Tim Schilling, Elementary Teacher; Peggy Sway, Elementary Head Cook; and Doug Jones, School Bus Driver.  Thank you for your many years of service to the Barnum School District.

The 2014 Minnesota Legislative Session revised its Bullying Prohibition Policy.  Copies of the new policy, 514, may be found both on the Barnum School District webpage: www.barnum.k12.mn.us (under the District tab, which is on the left side of the Home page) and in your child’s Parent-Student Handbook.  Please review the new policy with your child.  We all need to work together to stop bullying and keep our school a safe learning environment for everyone.

At its April 15, 2014, Regular Meeting, the Barnum School Board approved the addition of Begindergarten to the Barnum Elementary School.  Yes.  Begindergarten is spelled correctly! It is the name of the school year preceding Kindergarten, and this new program will now be offered during the entire school year for four one-half days per week.  Begindergarten participants will be better prepared for Kindergarten by attending this enhanced educational experience which will provide additional time for our young students to grow physically, emotionally, academically, and socially.

The results of the Tuesday, August 12, 2014, Barnum High School referendum was 343 votes yes and 709 votes no.  I want to thank everyone in the Barnum School District Community for their thoughtful consideration on the referendum and continued support of our school.